What Are You Doing?

StockSnap_X0SYSO6OXF (1).jpg

“From the day we arrive on the planet
And blinking, step into the sun
There’s more to see than can ever be seen
More to do than can ever be done
There is far too much to take in here
More to find than can ever be found
But the sun rolling high
Through the sapphire sky
Keeps great and small on the endless round” 

The other day I was listening to The Lion Kind Original Broadway Cast Album (like the musical theatre geek I am), and these classic lyrics that sunk into my mind.  As I listened to them I thought.

First I thought how wonderful our world was. How every inch is brimming with adventure if you choose to look for it. There’s so much to do, so much to see. It’s filled with so many gifts, from the sun rolling high through the sapphire sky to the moment you find you still have a few fries left after you thought they were all gone. Sometimes we fall – I fall – into the trap of taking things for granted. Just going through the motions. Sure, we’ve got the sun but right now I want the rain, or sure we’ve got those fries but I wanted an oreo instead. It’s a reminder to me to be thankful for every moment, every adventure, I get.

The lyrics also made me think about time. I asked myself what am I doing with my time? Am I using it to give glory and praise to God and love to those around me or just using it to stress over my Spanish grade…. I’m embarrassed to say that its usually the latter. But life has no pause button.. I’m gonna say that again.

Life has got no pause button.

Why don’t I live like I believe that? I always find an excuse; I’m too tired. I’ll do that tomorrow. I just need to focus on me right now. That one a lot. I just need to focus on me right now.

Don’t get me wrong, people need me-time. need me time. But when does me-time turn into me-all-the-time?

It really made me think “what are my priorities?” I don’t want to get so caught up in today that I completely forget to think about if this will really be that important tomorrow. It reminded me to take every moment and live it to its fullest..

What about you? There’s more to be seen then can ever be seen, more to do than can ever be done, so what are you doing?

There you go. That’s my scatter brained two cents for the day. I think I’m going to go listen to another musical…

Yours Sincerely, Audrey

Leave a Reply

